Finishing Old Songs

I’ve got this problem: I can’t finish a lot of the tunes I’ve got lying around. I had even made a promise with myself to get them all done in 2011. Even if they ended up substandard.

I’ve been doing internet searches on the subject, and while it’s nice to know I’m not the only one with this issue, nothing seems to help. There were people who advised combining 2 or more unfinished works into one. Kind of like what The Beatles did on Abbey Road’s second side (for those of you who are old enough to remember albums). There were others who suggested the forcing of the songs to completion one at a time.

In terms of my process,  I’ll start work on an older track, and I’ll start to add something (it usually doesn’t fit) and I’m off creating something new. Maybe the idea wasn’t a good one? Maybe I learned what I needed to learn during the process of recording the old song in the first place? Maybe the song is better off kept short instead of ending up as a full-blown song? The one thing that gets me is that I just don’t like to feel as if I’ve wasted my time.

Any thoughts?

2 Responses to “Finishing Old Songs”

  1. a short good song is still a good song

  2. Amazing Post!…

    Thanks a lot for this amazing post. Really amazing!…

Leave a Reply

