Learning to Play the Guitar

I made the decision to start playing guitar back in 2000. It wasn’t my first time picking up the instrument, but after years of trying I promised myself I wouldn’t give up this time.

I remember buying Guitar for Dummies, and The “First Stage” Guitar Book. I played every day for hours at a time. My fingers hurt for the first 6 months, I couldn’t barre any chords, and I couldn’t play anybody’s tunes (and I still can’t).

Even though I was miserable and frustrated, I never lost my focus- I knew that if I kept at it something would eventually click.  And I was right. As I got over each stumbling block and learning curve I was able to start writing and playing the sounds I heard in my head.

Formal lessons never worked for me, I remain self taught to this day, and I’m happy as a rhythm player. My unorthodox approach has helped me to concentrate on simple (effective) chords, along with song structure, melody and recording techniques. I leave the solos for more capable people like my (lead) guitarist Mitch.

In any event, it’s been about 10 years since I picked up the guitar, and it’s been a very rewarding experience. It’s helped me write music that I otherwise wouldn’t have been able to write if I stuck solely with the drums and piano.

Leave a Reply

